Fire District #1

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Coffey County Fire District #1 was established in May 1989, to provide fire, rescue, and emergency medical response to the citizens of Coffey County and Southern Osage County. Coffey County Fire District #1 covers approximately 700 square miles, which includes three mainstream highways, two major railway systems, countless miles of underground pipelines, a large national wildlife refuge, two large man-made lakes, a nuclear power plant, and rural farmland.

Coffey County Fire District #1 maintains seven fire stations, a water rescue division, and a hazardous materials division, located in Burlington, Gridley, Jacobs Creek, LeRoy, Lebo, New Strawn, and Waverly. The Fire District is comprised of approximately 140 trained professional volunteer firefighters, and also five volunteers of the water rescue division, which are trained in swift water rescue, surface and underwater search and recovery. The Fire District has presently two full-time positions, a Fire Chief/Administrator and District Clerk. Their offices are located in Burlington at Station #3.

Coffey County Fire District #1 has 52 pieces of fire apparatus, rescue and/or emergency vehicles that stand ready to respond. Six of the seven stations in the district have a full compliment of a pumper, tanker, rescue equipment, and grass/brush trucks.

Coffey County Fire District #1 has an ongoing dedication of providing informational and educational programs to the public, some of which are fire safety, fire prevention, juvenile fire-setting, and station and equipment tours. During Fire Prevention Week in October, all stations participate in fire safety and awareness education. This is accomplished in each school, in newspaper publications, in public workshops, and parent fairs. The Fire District has a portable smokehouse, where children have the opportunity to see what it is like to be in a smoke-filled room. It also gives them the chance to be rescued by a firefighter, who is dressed in full turnout gear. At Halloween, the Fire District distributes safety glow necklaces to local children at each station in Coffey County, to help make trick-or-treating safer.

The Fire District annually participates in the Muscular Dystrophy Boot Block on Labor Day weekend and provides support to the Coffey County OK KIDS annual event at John Redmond Reservoir, near Burlington.

Coffey County Fire District #1 is committed to serve and respond to emergencies in a timely and professional manner. Our volunteers receive the best quality and highly skilled training available in the fire service today. This commitment is shared by each firefighter toward their community and it is their dedication which allows for the safety of all citizens.

To achieve the goal of having a successful Fire District, you have to have excellent equipment, dedicated people, and complete support from the community you serve. Coffey County is very blessed to have all these key ingredients to make Coffey County Fire District #1 work to its highest level of performance, which is to provide the best possible services and fire protection to their citizens.

Contact Information

Randall Brown, Fire Chief/Administrator
Coffey County Fire District #1
Administrative Office
113 N. 5th St.
Burlington, KS 66839

Telephone: (620) 364-2305

Fax: (620) 364-3108


Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.