About the Landfill

The Coffey County Sanitary Landfill (CCSL) is a municipal solid waste (MSW) landfill site which is owned by Coffey County, Kansas. The CCSL operates pursuant to Solid Waste Disposal Area Permit, Number 297 issued by Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Waste Management (KDHE-BWM).

The total landfill area is approximately 38 acres. The CCSL consists of two MSW landfill units which include the original 14-acre landfill and the 24-acre lateral expansion landfill.

Facility Holidays

The facilities will be closed for:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King Day
  • President's Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Veteran's Day
  • Thanksgiving
  • Day after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Eve
  • Christmas Day


The landfill fees support the operating expenses of Coffey County Landfill, solid waste disposal issues, and environmental concerns.

Fees are based on the type and weight of materials brought to the landfill.