Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Coffey County Commission
110 S. 6th Street, Room 204A
Burlington, KS 66839

Telephone: (620) 364-2683

Fax: (620) 364-8531

Email: dberland@coffeycountyks.org


Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Coffey County Commissioners



The Coffey County Board of Commissioners is a five-person elected body that has overall responsibility for county government, setting policy and performing executive and legislative functions. The County is partitioned into five separate districts of nearly equal population, based upon census numbers. One Member is elected from each district. County Commissioners must be qualified electors of the County and must reside in the district from which they are elected throughout their term in office. Commissioners serve four year terms, with three of the five commissioners being elected in the same year, and the other two commissioners elected one year later.  Commission terms begin the second Monday in January after the election.

The Board meets every Monday of the month at 9:00 a.m. in the Commission Chambers, Room 201, located in the Coffey County Courthouse, 110 S. 6th St., Burlington, Kansas. The weekly agenda includes various reports and other matters concerning county government. The sessions are open to the public, as provided under the Kansas Open Meetings Act.

The Commission strives to strengthen and preserve the health, safety, and welfare of the public. It has exclusive powers to enact, amend, and repeal public policies, to levy and apportion taxes, make appropriations, adopt budgets, and to appoint certain offices and boards.  


It is the mission of Coffey County Government to cost-effectively provide mandatory and discretionary services in a manner to meet the needs of Coffey County citizens with respect and integrity as follows:

  • Provide a standard of excellence in service
  • Promote and encourage a professional, responsive, direct, and courteous business atmosphere when dealing with the public and fellow employees
  • Conduct business in a courteous, timely and efficient manner
  • Provide a safe secure workplace for employees and the public to conduct business
  • Provide the highest standard of fiduciary and professional care
  • Comply strictly and fairly with the laws of the state of Kansas

To contact your Commissioner, please call Administrative Assistant, Donna Berland, at (620) 364-2683 or e-mail dberland@coffeycountyks.org